You Cannot be a Christian and Support Torture. There, I said it.

I’m tired of seeing things like this pop up on my timeline.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d07/70932518/files/2014/12/img_2678.png

This is from the Facebook of a fellow sister in Christ, someone I’ve looked up to. To see this propagation of violence supported by her was both troubling and disheartening. Hence I am the second comment.

I understand that you’re angry; I am, too. I understand your need for justice, but justice is not vengeance. It’s not retribution. Christ told us that we are to love our enemies, those that attack, berate, murder, injure, martyr us. We are to love them through it all. At some point we must concretely decide that he was right and attempt real justice, or we must finally admit that we are only out for blood and the leader of our faith is irrelevant.

Are we going to remembered as followers of the Prince of Peace or torturers of those made in His image? We cannot be both.

2 thoughts on “You Cannot be a Christian and Support Torture. There, I said it.

  1. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave room for the wrath of God; for it is written, ‘Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.’
    –Romans 12:19

Leave a Reply

